My Funny Valentines


For me, Valentine’s Day is the one occasion when I can finally use all of the pink and purple construction paper that has been left on the bottom of the pile. I can finally cut out hearts and use pretty pink and red ribbon. Valentine’s Day justifies girly, pink, frilly crafts that I long for the rest of year.

The end result of our first Valentine’s Day craft attempt was somewhat of a crafting fail. I cut out hearts from different colors of tissue paper. Then, using vinegar, the boys painted a piece of paper and stuck the hearts on.

 Greer getting crafty tissue paper hearts Grayson painting with vinegar

Don't hang them to dry. I noticed the hearts coming off and laid them down on the counter.

Don’t hang them to dry. I noticed the hearts coming off and laid them down on the counter.

Once dry, you are supposed to be able to peel the tissue paper hearts away from the paper to reveal a heart-shaped stain left behind. This worked ok for the pink tissue paper, but not so much for the other colors. If you want to try this one I suggest using red and bright pink tissue paper. The boys weren’t disappointed. They had fun and that is all that matters.

finished project

We did some shopping today and got supplies for a few more super-fun crafts. We have window markers, heart-shaped boxes to paint, crepe paper to make flowers with, plus some more girly Valentine’s Day appropriate crafts, so stick around.

 Valentine's Day craft supplies

Click here for 2012’s Valentine’s Day project

This entry was posted in Kid Crafts and Activities and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to My Funny Valentines

  1. kavenson says:

    I saw this site the other day – pinterest fails: http://www.boredpanda.com/funny-pinterest-fails/ they were pretty funny. I have a very small plastic tub that says, “Craft Things.” I hate the store bought valentines and I often have the kids make their own…but they never look good 🙂 I admire the attempt in your postings.

    • Handmade Valentines are better than store bought hands down, whether they look nice or not. I love Pinterest Fails. By the way, the trick thats on Pinterest to keep water from boiling over by putting a wooden spoon over the pot? That’s never worked for me.

  2. whiteladyinthehood says:

    You are such a great hands-on mom! I love that you encourage them to be so creative.

Leave a comment